Catholic Church in Australia

The Catholic Church in Australia is served by the Australian Catholic Bishops Conference, which is the permanent collegial assembly of the Bishops of Australia.

In Australia, there are thirty-three dioceses in union with the Pope. The Church defines a diocese as “a portion of the people of God, which is entrusted to a bishop…” or, as “a community of Christ’s faithful in communion of faith and sacraments with their bishop…”. A diocese usually has a defined territory and comprises all the Catholics who live there: such is the case with twenty-eight of the Australian dioceses.

Catholic LogoHowever, there are also five dioceses covering the whole country: one each for those who belong to the Chaldean, Maronite, Melkite and Ukrainian rites and one for those who are serving in the Australian Defence Forces.

Search the list of dioceses in Australia